Babies and Yoga

A friendly, warm and fun family seek a part time nanny starting in Summer 2021. The family currently has an eight year old, a three year old and baby due in July. 

Location: Amsterdam Zuid

Start: May/June 2021

Days: Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday may increase to four days

Hours: 9 - 5.30pm

Salary: €15 - 18 depending on experience

Job ref: 2115

Job details

The job will begin as three days, potentially increasing to four days once the Mum returns to work after her maternity leave ends. There is the possibility of extra hours at the weekends and during the evenings every so often. 

The start date is flexible the family would like the nanny and children settled before the baby arrives at the end of July.

The job will be a mixture of shared care and sole charge then when the Mum returns to work it will be a sole charge role.

The eldest is in school full time and the nearly three year old attends daycare three days per week.

Both parents are working from home, the Dad works in the office in the house and the Mum has a studio in the garden. 

The eldest is studious, sweet, kind and shy. He attends school full time and a variety of activities including circus skills and Kungfu. His younger sister is very sociable, feisty and lively. She attends daycare three days per week. They both love playing with Lego, cooking and playground trips. There is a swimming pool in the garden so it's preferred that you are a confident swimmer who is happy to take the children swimming. A nanny who is confident helping the three year old with the transition of having a new nanny and new baby. The Mum is keen the baby follows a flexible sleeping and eating routine. Once old enough they are keen for the baby to attend local classes including baby sensory. You need to be organised and happy to do school picks and take the children to their activities on the bakfiets. Being a team player is vital as a babysitter currently supports the family on Tuesday and Thursday's they may continue to do so once the nanny starts. 

Previously the Mum has done extended breast feeding, it's vital the nanny is supportive. She has combined it with bottle feeding. 

The family lives near the Beatrix park. 

 

A nanny who understands or is keen to learn about positive discipline is important for this role. Someone with a non authoritarian approach but can input and maintain boundaries. Teaching the children to be calm, confident and respectful is important to the family. It's a bonus if the nanny is familiar with Jane Nelson, positive discipline and Montessori approach.

Ideal candidates are kind, confident easy to get along with, adaptable and work well independently. A respectful nanny happy to use their initiative. 

Responsibilities include doing nursery duties and cooking for the whole family. The Mum is happy to provide recipes. When the baby is born the family may need extra support with groceries etc.

 

It's a bonus if you are happy to walk the dog however there is a dog walker. 

Ideally the nanny will be interested in travelling with the family two - three times a year including internationally. The trips will be for approximately 1 - 2 weeks at a time. 

They have a regular cleaner. 

Due to Covid19 it's preferred the nanny doesn't use public transport to commute to work. 

You will be required to be on call and take care of the older children during the birth of the newborn.
 

Apply for position

Requirements/qualifications

Childcare qualifications: Yes e.g. Cache or similar 

Experienced required: Minimum of five years nanny experience, previous newborn experience and bonus if you have previously cared for multiple children

Sole charge or shared care: Initially both then sole charge

Language: Fluent English bonus if you speak Dutch

Commitment: Minimum of a year ideally two years (until youngest transitions to daycare)

Driver: Bonus not requirement 

Bike: Happy to cycle electric and non electric bakfiets 

Pets: Confident with the family pets; a cat and dog.